cosmic chaos

cultivating calm & creativity in my corner of the world

Rite of Passage — Then and Now

boaw-2013

Today’s post is a contribution to August McLaughlin’s Beauty of a Woman BlogFest 2013.
When I was growing up, I saw wearing makeup as a rite of passage. My mother didn’t use many cosmetics – just lipstick and face powder – so I wasn’t exposed to the finer points of its use.

When I was in 9th grade, I took my makeup compact to school. I knew that Mom wouldn’t let me pass by with full makeup on without comment. So I snuck it out, ducked into the girl’s bathroom as soon as I got to school and applied green eye shadow, red blush and lipstick. This was the first time I really applied makeup.

If a little is good, then a lot must be better, I thought.

I was heavy handed. I wasn’t sure if I was applying it correctly.

“Does this look all right?” I asked my friend.

She assured me it was fine. I believed her. I was happy. I succeeded in my rite. I was a teenager wearing makeup. I was beautiful.

I went through the whole day. When I got home, my mother looked at me.

“A little much, isn’t it?” she asked.

I shrugged. When I went to my room, I stood in front of my mirror. I was horrified. I looked like a clown.  I washed off the makeup. The washcloth looked like my face had sloughed off in its folds – green eyes and red cheeks left behind on the white cloth.   

 The next day I went to school sans makeup, praying no one made comment. No one did.

Later I learned how to subtlety apply foundation, eye shadow and blush — blending colors to enhance my features instead of overpower them.

Sixteen years ago, after the birth of my first child, I all but stopped wearing makeup. I figured I look how I look. People who liked me would like me without makeup; people who chose to shun me because I didn’t wear makeup would never like me any way.

Don’t get me wrong  –  I don’t always like every aspect of my appearance. Some days I am my own worst critic, magnifying the slightest flaw. It’s hard to compare yourself to the media’s version of beauty without feeling that you fall short. But I have to remind myself that those images aren’t real. Most have been digitally altered past anything nature ever created or that is remotely healthy.

Looking back, I learned a lesson that day in 9th grade that has taken me years to internalize:  Feeling beautiful is more about your perception of yourself than your actual appearance.

Look around. See the woman who has the radiant smile. The one who lights up a room. The woman who people just want to be around to share in the warmth of her spirit. I bet she learned the same lesson.

What about you?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Rite of Passage — Then and Now

  1. I thought I wanted to wear makeup when I was a teenager. My mom said I had to wait until I was 16. After wearing all the makeup one day, my mom said I had to go through the process of cleaning my face at night. I decided on my own that I did not want to wear makeup because of all it took to get my face clean at night. Almost 20 years later and people still tell me that they think I am wearing makeup because my skin looks smooth. I think my mom did some reverse psychology on me with the makeup lesson. Saved my skin though 🙂

Leave a Reply

