cosmic chaos

cultivating calm & creativity in my corner of the world

Kitchen Confidential

My kitchen table has been an embarrassing  mountain of unclaimed stuff and miscellaneous paper for months.  It has been on my top list for decluttering.  However whenever I cleaned, I left the table for my last task because I dreaded dealing with it.  I would sort through several days of mail, put bills to be paid in our monthly bill organizer, drop grocery ads into the recycling, and shred junk mail offers.   But there was always more.  Eventually, I would make stacks and shift items from one side of the table to the other, finding obvious items to discard in the process.  Then I would get stuck and stop.   More stuff would get added to the table as new mail was delivered and our automobiles were cleaned.  The table just looked worse than before.

This weekend, my husband stepped up and went through the junk covering our table.  As I worked on the dirty dishes and kitchen counters, he sorted, threw away, organized and — a couple of hours after he began– managed to clean the whole table off.  It looks great.  And I’m very appreciative of all his hard work.

Now our challenge is to be disciplined enough to put things away daily to keep the table clean.

Like everything else in my life, (1) it is a work in progress and (2) I can’t do it alone.  To stay clutter free is going to take a team effort from the whole family.  Let’s see if we are up to the challenge.

Last week I shared a link for the website of a writer and artist who inspired me.  This week, I’d like to introduce you to another of my inspirations — author and creativity coach Cassie Premo Steele.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

