cosmic chaos

cultivating calm & creativity in my corner of the world

Nostalgia

I love KitKat Candy Bars.  Crispy sugar wafers covered in milk chocolate.  What’s not to love?  But it’s not just the delicious taste that fosters my fondness for KitKats.

When I was a little girl, my brother and I got off the school bus at my grandparents’ house.  My mother taught at a local school.  We stayed with my grandparents until my mother got home.  My grandparents, like many others, stocked their kitchen with goodies they knew the grandkids liked.  KitKats were a frequent treat for us.

KitKats are a comfort food for me.  The sight, feel and taste of this candy transports me back to happy days of my childhood.  I think of how special I felt knowing that my grandparents bought treats for me because they loved me.  I remember playing cards with my grandmother.  Sometimes, I would sit with my grandmother and watch her crochet.  She taught me the basic stitches and bought me my first crochet needle and thread.  Even though I tried, I couldn’t keep up with her nimble fingers.

My grandfather died a long time ago.  My grandmother has since left her home and now lives with my mother.  Earlier this month, my grandmother celebrated her 97th birthday.  Maybe that’s why the last time I was at the grocery store, I bought a whole bag of KitKats.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

